Ten At A Time : Volume 3

This is my occasional blog charting my audio “journey” through every album that charted in the UK in the 1990’s, Ten At A Time

Thorne’s most famous resident (beside toilet pioneer Thomas Crapper) Lesley Garrett’s “A Soprano Inspired” (Conifer Classic – November 1997) was Christmas present for the relative of a certain age you don’t know that well but need to get something for. Nice.

London’s most famous Scotsman Rod Stewart’s “A Spanner In The Works” (Warner Bros – June 1995) was his 17th studio album and reeks of contractual obligation.

On “A Storm In Heaven” (Hut – June 1993), The Verve sound nothing like the Verve we know and tolerate. Maybe it’s due to the lack of a “The” that freed them up a bit…or the Cornish air…or something else…

Now, a gap in my knowledge. Sonic Youth are a band that I should love and know more about. Hopefully Ten At A Time is the thing that plugs that gap because I adored “A Thousand Leaves” (DGC – May 1998). What was I doing in May 1998 that stopped me from being obsessed with this? Oh yeah, it wasn’t on the Haworth Arms jukebox!

The Afro Cuban All Stars’ “A Toda Cuba Le Gusta” (World Circuit – July 1998) is a slice of sunshine and the first album that peaked my wife’s interest. As a result it’s the one on the list I have heard the most. (For the record, she is not a Carter USM fan)

Michael Crawford’s “A Touch Of Music In The Night” (Atlantic – November 1993) is dreadful.

It never occured to me that Dusty Springfield’s final album was in the 90’s but “A Very Fine Love” (Columbia – July 1995) was supposed to be a country album but they mostly sound like the songs you hear at the end of 80’s Hollywood fish out of water comedies.

Diana Ross did a holiday album. It was called “A Very Special Season” (EMI – November 1994) came after her dreadful goal at the World Cup and includes the frightfully Christmassy “What The World Needs Now Is Love” and I hope I never have to hear any of it again.

Belinda Carlisle’s “A Woman And A Man” (EMI – September 1994) was a surprise. I didn’t expect to love a Belinda Carlisle album but I’ve listened to it a few times and loved it, especially “California”.

“A World Without Dave” (Cooking Vinyl – March 1997) was a bit of a concept album (well, concept EP) from Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine which I adored but I’ve been a fan for years. This is in the dying years of the band, I’d suggest that their work post-Carter is well worth listening to but as great as this is, it’s no 30 Something!

So, in order of preference…

  1. Sonic Youth – “A Thousand Leaves” (1998)
  2. Carter USM – “A World Without Dave” (1997)
  3. Belinda Carlisle – “A Woman And A Man” (1996)
  4. Juan De Marcos’ Afro-Cuban All Stars – “A Toda Cuba Le Gusta” (1998)
  5. Lesley Garrett – “A Soprano Inspired” (1997)
  6. Rod Stewart – “A Spanner in The Works” (1995)
  7. Dusty Springfield – “A Very Fine Love” (1995)
  8. The Verve – “A Storm In Heaven” (1993)
  9. Diana Ross – “A Very Special Season” (1994)
  10. Michael Crawford – “A Touch Of The Music Of The Night” (1993)

Published by fatmancunian

I used to work on the radio. Now I talk to myself for free!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started